The South African Branch of the International Law Association (SABILA)

The South African Branch of the International Law Association was established in 1994. This was the year of the first democratic elections in South Africa which also created the opportunity for South Africa to rejoin the international community of states and for international law scholars in South Africa to become part of the community of international law academics and practitioners. The first president of SABILA was Prof John Dugard who later became a member of the International Law Commission and an ad hoc judge in cases before the International Court of Justice. Prof Dugard was succeeded by Prof Derry Devine from the University of Cape Town in 1998 and in 2001 Prof Neville Botha from the University of South Africa took over the presidency and served in that capacity until 2007.  In 2008, Prof Hennie Strydom from the University of Johannesburg succeeded Prof Botha.

Current office bearers

PRESIDENT
Prof Hennie Strydom, University of Johannesburg (hstrydom@uj.ac.za)

TREASURER
Prof Patrick Vrancken, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (Patrick.Vrancken@nmmu.ac.za)

SECRETARY
Mr Ian Lindsay, Director, Knowles, Husain, Lindsay Inc. Sandton, Johannesburg (PL@khl.co.za)

Members

A
Surname Initials Email
Abioye FT abioyft@unisa.ac.za
Abraham Prof G dePeletAbraham@yahoo.co.za
B
Surname Initials Email
Barrie Prof GN barriegm@telkomsa.net
Basson Prof JHE ebasson@glynmaris.co.za
Beukes Prof M beukem1@unisa.ac.za
Bosch Mrs S BoschS@ukzn.ac.za
Botha Prof NJ neville.botha7@gmail.com
Brijlall Ms A brijlalla@dirco.gov.za
C
Surname Initials Email
Calitz Prof J jcalitz@uj.ac.za
Chenwi Prof L Lilian.Chenwi@wits.ac.za
D
Surname Initials Email
De Jager Adv R dejagerr@dirco.gov.za
De Wet Adv S dewetjgs@dirco.gov.za
Dlagnekova Finne Ms PG dlagnpg@unisa.ac.za
Du Plessis Prof M duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za OR maxduplessis@mac.com
Dugard Prof J john@dugard.nl
Dwarika Ms Y dwarika@dirco.gov.za
E
Surname Initials Email
Ehrenbeck Ms M Ehrenbeck ehrenm@unisa.ac.za
Erasmus Prof MG Gerhard@tralac.org OR mge@tralac.org
F
Surname Initials Email
Fagbayibo Mr B b.fagbayibo@gmail.com
G
Surname Initials Email
Ganie Adv HS hajraganie@yahoo.co.uk
Gutto Prof S guttosbo@unisa.ac.za
H
Surname Initials Email
Hammon Prof D dhamman@uwc.ac.za
Heaton Prof J heatoj@unisa.ac.za
Heynes Prof C cristof.heyns@up.ac.za
Hoctor Prof SV hoctors@ukzn.ac.za
I
Surname Initials Email
Iyi J.-M. john-marki@uj.ac.za
J
Surname Initials Email
Joyini Adv T joyinit@dirco.gov.za
Juma Prof L l.juma@ru.ac.za
K
Surname Initials Email
Kabai Mr M kabaim@dirco.gov.za
Kalonga Mr E eddykalonga@yahoo.com
Katz Adv A antkatz@law.co.za
King Ms E kinge@dirco.gov.za
Kirk- Cohen Ms AL Anette.Lansink@univen.ac.za
Kotze Mr T kotze@dirco.gov.za
Kruger Adv J tjkruger@iafrica.com
L
Surname Initials Email
Law Mr AN Andrew.law@stryker.com
Lindsay Mr IV ivl@khl.co.za
Luiz Prof SM luiz@ukzn.ac.za
M
Surname Initials Email
Mangu Prof AMB manguamb@unisa.ac.za
Maqungo Mr S manqungos@dirco.gov.za
Maritz Ms M marelie.maritz@gmail.com
Meyersfeld Prof B bonita.meyersfeld@wits.ac.za
Mokgwasa Ms MA mokgwasam@dirco.gov.za
Mokobi Mrs EM Elizabeth.mokobi@mopipi.ub.bw
Muller Adv GC mullergc@telkomsa.net
N
Surname Initials Email
Naidu Ms T naidut@foreign.gov.za
Nienaber Prof A annelize.nienaber@up.ac.za
O
Surname Initials Email
Olivier ME Prof ME michelle.olivier@hull.ac.za
Olivier V Adv V vickyolivier888@gmail.com
Oluwu Prof O djolowu1@yahoo.co.uk
P
Surname Initials Email
Pronto Mr A pronto@un.org
R
Surname Initials Email
Rautenbach Prof C christa.rautenbach@nwu.ac.za
Roux Dr M mroux@uj.ac.za
Ruppel Prof OC ruppel@sun.ac.za
S
Surname Initials Email
Sabelo Mr MG George@nsattornys.co.za
Schar Mr G grs@khl.co.za
Schlemmer Prof DR EC engela.schlemmer@wits.ac.za
Scholtz Prof W wscholtz@uwc.ac.za
Sekhula Adv PP advppsekhula@gmail.com
Steenkamp Ms T steenkampt@dirco.gov.za
Stemmet Mr A stemmetpa@foreign.gov.za
Strydom Prof HA hstrydom@uj.ac.za
Swart Prof M mswart@uj.ac.za
T
Surname Initials Email
Thomashausen Prof AEAM thomaaea@unisa.ac.za
Tladi Dr D tladidd@foreign.gov.za
Tshabalala Mr M m.tshabalala@dmsattorneys.co.za
V
Surname Initials Email
Van Wyk Mr L LvanWyk@spoor.co.za
Venter Prof F Francois.venter@nwu.ac.za
Vrancken Prof PHG Patrick.Vrancken@nmmu.ac.za
W
Surname Initials Email
Waschefort Prof G wascha@unisa.ac.za